Close this search box.
Shire of Mt Marshall Logo

Role of Local Government

In the Australian federal system, there are three levels of government: local, state and federal.

Each level of government is centred on a body (a parliament or a council) democratically elected by the people as their representatives.

In general, each level of government has its own responsibilities, although many responsibilities are shared in various ways.

Local government

Local government bodies such as the Shire have specific responsibilities and duties. There are limitations to their areas of responsibility or influence. You may have concerns involving an area of government where local council is unable to act or provide advice. In these cases, you may wish to contact your state or federal government representative.

Law making and enforcement

Council has the power under the Local Government Act 1995 to adopt a range of local laws, regulations and policies.

We are also responsible for ensuring state and local government laws and regulations are observed. This includes a range of permits and licences.

Our services

We provide a range of services, programs, activities and facilities. For more information visit Services.

Councillors and Elections

The Shire of Mt Marshall has 7 elected Councillors. Councillors are elected by the residents of the Shire. Council elections are held on the third Saturday in October every second year.

What do Councillors do?

Councillors listen to the needs of their community and residents and advocate for better community programs and services for their residents. They consult with residents and represent the interests of the community at council meetings.

Councillors participate in decision-making processes, where they translate the community’s needs and aspirations into the future direction of the Shire. Councillors works towards delivering safer, highly liveable communities and are involved with law making, major projects and events.